2016 End of Year Book Survey

2016 is over!! I have never done and end of year book survey but it looks like fun so I thought why not? I’m so surprised that I actually read 102 books this year. So let’s get started! 🙂


2016 Reading Stats

  1. Number of books you read: 102
  2. Number of re-reads: 4
  3. Genre you read the most from: Fantasy

#1- Best book you read in 2016

So I’ve already posted my top reads of 2016 so I’ll link them HERE. But I will go ahead and list some honorable mentions.

  1. Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
  2. Rebel Genius by Michael Dante DiMartino
  3. The Rose Society by Marie Lu
  4. The Midnight Star by Marie Lu
  5. This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Honestly there are so mo many more that I could list but I’m going to settle for these 5 mentions.

#2-Book you were excited about & thought you were going to love more but didn’t

imgresDefinitely Soundless by Richelle Mead. I’ve read her Vampire Academy series as well as her Bloodlines series and while I loved those this book just wasn’t for me. I really thought I would like it but it just wasn’t that great.

 

 

 

 

#3-Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read

18692431.jpgFor good it was probably Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I didn’t know much about this but it was chosen for a book club and I’m glad I picked it up because I ended up loving it.

 

 

 

 

imgres-1For bad it was probably the  Dorothy Must Die series. I still plan on reading the last book because I just want to see how it wraps up but I really didn’t enjoy much about this series.

 

 

 

 

#4- Book you pushed the most people to read (& did they)

Uhmm I don’t know that I really pushed anyone to read a book but I know that I have mentioned anything by Victoria (V.E.) Schwab like a 1,000 times so I guess that could count as pushing.

#5- Best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series ender of 2016? 

Series: I started so many amazing series this year! This is so hard to choose from but I’m going to cheat and pick two. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is easily my favorite book of all time and one I read this year. But there was also The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon which I also loved so much. So it’s probably those two

Sequel: Easily A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab although there a plenty of other sequels that I loved  *cough cough A Court of Mist and Fury cough cough*

imgres-4

Series Ender: Although I completed a good amount of series this year my favorite was probably  Morning Star by Pierce Brown. I made so many posts about how much I loved this book that I think it would be wrong to pick any other book for this question.

imgres-3

#6-Favorite new author you discovered in 2016

Audrey Coulthurst. Her book  Of Fire and Stars was spectacular and has definitely turned her into an autobuy author

#7-Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone

19057.jpgI Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. This is a contemporary mystery kind of book which I don’t ever read and I was surprised by how much I loved it.

 

 

 

 

#8-Most action packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year

imgres-3A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. If you haven’t read this book then you don’t understand but I COULD NOT put it down. It was so good.

 

 

 

 

 

#9-Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year

51qhtzfrfgl-_sx329_bo1204203200_Oh definitely Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This book was action packed and fast paced and I could definitely see me wanting to re-experience everything before reading the final book in the series.

 

 

 

 

#10-Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016

imgresI am completely in love with this cover. Honestly Crooked Kingdom takes the cake for the prettiest cover.

 

 

 

 

 

#11-Most memorable character of 2016

LORCAN from Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

#12-Most beautifully written book read in 2016

imgresI know I already used this book but I love the writing style in The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.

 

 

 

 

#13-Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016

unbroken_by_laura_hillenbrand_coverUnbroken was a book I had to read for school and honestly didn’t know if I’d enjoy it or not but it definitely was a thought-provoking book.

 

 

 

 

#14-Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read

2qAgain so many that I could chose from but definitely  The Archived by Victoria Schwab. I’ve heard so many great things about this book I can’t believe it took me this long to finally pick it up.

 

 

 

 

#15-Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016

“Words are pale shadows of forgotten names. As names have power, words have power. Words can light fires in the minds of men. Words can wring tears from the hardest hearts.”- The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

#16-Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016

Shortest: Beouwulf (64 pages)

Longest: Lady Midnight (698 pages)

#17-Book That Shocked You The Most

27414432Rebel Genius mostly because I didn’t even know this book existed but once I got it I was hooked and loved it!

 

 

 

 

 

#18- OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

I’m cheating again and picking two. Lila and Kell from A Gathering of Shadows  and Lorcan and Elide from Empire of Storms.

#19-Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

imgres-1Kate and August from This Savage Song. Although if this ends up turning into a relationship later on I’d be completely okay with it.

 

 

 

 

 

#20-Favorite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously

510d4dwotll-_sx335_bo1204203200_The Midnight Star by Marie Lu. I loved her Legend trilogy and loved concluding the next series. All of her books are amazing but I really loved this ending.

 

 

 

 

 

#21-Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

27774758.jpgI don’t want to say that I wouldn’t have read this book, but it was not high on my list until one of my friends kept talking about how much she loved this book. Once I finally picked it up I understood.

 

 

 

 

 

#22-Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016

umm did we not cover this all the way up at the most memorable character? But yes LORCAN ❤

#23-Best 2016 debut you read

25164304Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst.

 

 

 

 

 

 

#24-Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year

24001095.jpgI really liked the super quirky world from Beastly Bones by William Ritter.

 

 

 

 

#25-Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read

I honestly loved reading The Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead. Adrian’s character just made it so much fun to read.

#26-Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016

Pretty sure I cried in a couple of book this year. But I uglied cried in Crooked Kingdom but since I’ve already chosen that one I’ll pick another. I also cried re reading A Tale of Two Cities which probably sounds weird but trust me it’s an emotional book.

#27-Hidden Gem Of The Year

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000447_00001]

#28-Book That Crushed Your Soul

24529123.jpgThis is Where it Ends by Mirieke Nijkamp. I was crushed by the end of this book. crushed.

 

 

 

 

#29-Most Unique Book You Read In 2016

url.jpgThis book was so different and unique from anything else I’ve ever read. Shusterman really created an unique world in Unwholly.

 

 

 

 

 

#30-Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)

10836736This book could have been so good. It had so much going for it but ultimately it made me so angry. It never had strong female leads and had way too much going on and disconnect from characters.

 

 

 

 

 

#31-New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016

Wandering Midnight’s Page <– this blog is amazing! and I might be kind of biased because I know the two wonderful people that run it but their rating system is one I’ve never hear of but think is really cool.

#32-Favorite review that you wrote in 2016

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. My review for this book was over 900 words and it was definitely my favorite. Review is linked HERE.

#33-Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog

I don’t think that I really posted that many discussion posts (or any) but I did really like my Morning Star bookish thoughts. Even though unless you’ve read the book you will have no clue what I’m talking about in any of it. Post is linked HERE.

#34-Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)

Hands down it was Yallfest. Not only did I get to meet my all time favorite author, Victoria Schwab, I also got to meet so many fellow book friends and experience things that I never would have had I not gone.

#35-Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016

Umm probably hitting 200 followers on my blog. I started this blog mostly so that I could look back on my thoughts for each book in the moment. I never really thought anyone would actually come to this page or see what I had written but now knowing that over 200 of you are following this it means so much to me.

#36-Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)

Based on views my most viewed post was Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater review. Review is linked HERE.

#37-Post You Wished Got A Little More Love

Probably my favorite post of the year which was my bookish thoughts. I get why it doesn’t have many views though because if you haven’t read the book you would be spoiled for it. However that post contains all of my feelings for that book so I loved it a lot.

#38- Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc)

I recently went to Florida and got to meet even more book friends and while we were there we went to a bookstore called MOJO bookstore. It was so amazing and  a great used bookstore that I want to go to Florida again so I can revisit.

#39-Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I set a reading goal for 100 books and I exceeded this by reading 102 books.

#40-One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017

1215032.jpgProbably The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss because it is massive and I really want to read it!

#41-Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)

conjuring-of-light1A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. I have been waiting for this book since the first book came out and I cannot wait to finish up this series.

 

 

 

#42-2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating

27883214I’m pretty sure this is a debut novel and I’m so excited for it even though I know very little about it, it sounds amazing.

 

 

 

 

 

#43-Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017

The third and final book in the Illuminae Files. Whenever this is finally released in 2017 I will be so happy about it.

#44-One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017

I really want to expand and create a YouTube channel for books but I have to work on my talking skills and all that before I can do it.

#45-A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I don’t think that I have read any books that come out in 2017 that aren’t already out.


That was my reading year! It was so much fun to do this because it’s a great way for me to reflect on my reading year. How was your reading year?

2 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Book Survey

Leave a Reply

