The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics

*all reviews are spoiler free*

28367592

Title: The Women in the Walls

Author: Amy Lukavics

Series Status: Standalone

# of pages: 278

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

3-5-star


This book really surprised me. I didn’t really know what to think about this book before reading it and I had gotten it for free from Yallfest as part of blind book date thing so I honestly didn’t know anything about it.

But it was filled with good and bad. I’m going to start with the bad. The first thing that I didn’t really like was that character development. I know it’s hard in 278 pages to develop full characters and completely tell a story but I didn’t feel any connection to the main character, Lucy, or really any of the side characters. They were there and that was fine but there was nothing made me want to keep reading from their point of view.

I also was not a big fan of the writing style. The first person narrative from Lucy’s point of view made it hard to connect with her but it did get a little better as the book progressed. There was nothing wrong with how Lukavics writes but I think this had to do more with the little character development that made the narrative feel off.

Then there was the pacing which was horrible to me. I know that horror is supposed to build up the big climaxing moment at the end but the first 200 pages were really slow. They weren’t uninteresting because some creepy things happened but since none of it gave me a creepy or eerie feeling or scared me in anyway I found a big chunk of the book kind of boring.

But I did LOVE the last 50 or so pages. When everything finally picked up it left me with a wtf feeling and I loved that. The last portion of the book was filled with everything I wanted it to be filled with I just wished it had come out sooner rather than later.

I also loved that it felt like women had a strong role throughout. Without saying any spoilers it felt as though these women were powerful in their own right and had a nice feeling of empowerment to it.

Probably my favorite thing about this book was the lack of romance. There is literately no romance. I loved how refreshing it is to read a YA book that doesn’t have a romance in it. But I also saw that there was a small hint or two at a possible love interest if things had gone differently. However they didn’t and I really liked not having a romance added into this complicated and creepy story.

Overall I really enjoyed this book even though it was really slow at the beginning. The ending and nonexistent romance made it a pretty great read.

3.5/5 stars

One thought on “The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics

Leave a Reply

