The Diviners by Libba Bray

*all reviews are spoiler free*

7728889

Title: The Diviners

Author:  Libba Bray

Series Status: 1st book in the Diviners series

# of pages: 578

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


This book is amazing! It’s finally a book that creeped me out and made me get slightly paranoid while reading.

Starting with the super creepy and in depth plot which I loved. At the very beginning I was kind of afraid that this plot was not going to work or be a little too much but it ended up being perfect. This group having to try and figure out who this serial killer is on the streets of New York was so unique. I don’t think I’ve read anything like this book and it’s finally the first book that gave me a little scare. It wasn’t that bad and as soon as I finished reading there was no lingering fear but that doesn’t mean it’s not scary.

Then there are the characters, who are basically the bulk of what makes this story incredible. We have Evie who is essentially the main character and a girl who just wants to be the stereotypical flapper girl but ends up being something much more. Plus we have an eclectic cast of mysterious characters like Jericho and Henry, who’s past is only just beginning to be revealed. There’s also Mabel who turns out to be a more minor character but is still rather interesting, if I’m being honest I’d probably be the Mabel of this story. Then we have my all time favorite pairing for this novel- Memphis and Theta. They are by far my favorite two characters because not only do they have incredibly interesting pasts there is still a lot of mystery to them.

Possibly the only thing that I did not enjoy in the book was the pacing. It was way too slow for the first 200 pages. And once it picked up I was super interested and could not put it down but the beginning dragged a lot.

I did love Bray’s writing style though. It was so unique to me because she used third person perspective but she constantly switched POVs for each character without chapter breaks. She managed to seamlessly change points of view from one sentence and it not feel disjointed. That is a writing style that I’ve never seen before and is something I now love.

Overall this book was incredible and managed to finally creep me out while also having an amazing writing style.

4/5 stars

One thought on “The Diviners by Libba Bray

Leave a Reply

