2017 Reading Challenge

So I saw this post by the super amazing and insanely wonderful Ash reads. I will link her original post HERE. But anyways this challenge is all about books you already own and trying to get your TBR lower. This is perfect for me because I’ve been wanting to go on a book buying ban and this way I can be more motivated to read books I already own.

If you choose to join her challenge like me, you can post about it one Instagram with the hashtag #TACKLEYOURLIBRARYCHALLENGE17


#1- Series you meant to start in 2016

7728889I’ve technically already read this book but it was a series I meant to read last year but never got around to. So even though I’ve already read it, it was this year so I think it counts. 🙂

#2- Contemporary

9627755So I own about three contemporaries that I have not read yet. I don’t usually read contemporaries because it’s just not my genre. However I’ve great things about this series so I’m hoping to give it a chance this year.

 

 

 

 

 

#3- Non Young Adult

1215032I LOVE THIS SERIES! Have I mentioned that before? But I’ve only read the first book because this one is massive. However it is not a YA book so it fits this category. And I know I’ll get to it at some point this year.

 

 

 

 

#4-Cover you aren’t fond of

51MeLXNpDhL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgRecently I read Scythe by  Neal Shusterman and loved it so much! Plus I’ve been wanting to finish this series for a while. However I’m not a big fan of the covers. They recently redid them and I would much rather have those covers but  I already own the completed series.

 

 

 

#5- Outside scenery on cover

51jjpmspakl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Another book I’ve been wanting to read forever. This book doesn’t seem wildly popular but from what I’ve heard about it, it seems really good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

#6- Over 500 pages

13618440.jpgI’ve already read the first two in this trilogy and I just need to finish it already! However I wasn’t the biggest fan of the second book so I have not really been interested much in this one. But I’m hoping that maybe this one is better.

 

 

 

 

 

#7-Recommended Book

20821306This book has been recommended to me so many times that I’ve lost track. I need to just hop on the fandom train already.

 

 

 

 

 

 

#8- Book with multiple authors

13138734.jpgI believe this is the only book I own with multiple authors. And I bought it before I realized they were companion novels and didn’t follow the same characters. So I’m putting it on the list but I don’t actually know when/if I’ll be reading it.

 

 

 

 

 

#9- Pre 2016 debut

51jirnuzeol-_sx328_bo1204203200_2014 debut which I still haven’t read. I need to pick this up already.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#10-Bookish letter (one of your initials) 

20345202.jpgG-Girl. I’m actually glad I found one with a “g” because otherwise I could use a “t” but that super common. Also this book sounds really good and I’ve heard amazing things but have still yet to actually just pick it up and read it.

 

 

 

 

 

#11-Book with chapter names

51sxcdvq4zl-_sx329_bo1204203200_I read the first one in this series I believe two years ago now, and then realized it was a spin off. However I really liked and want to continue even if I haven’t read the original series.

 

 

 

 

 

#12-Title you love

26114463.jpgI don’t know why I love this title so much but I just do. Plus it’s by Jay Kristoff who co-wrote the amazing Illuminae series so I’m sure this book will be amazing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

#13-Book with royalty

232070273 princesses (I think) so this definitely fits into this category. And I just recently got this so I’m really excited to read it so I know I’ll be reading it this year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

#14- Personless cover

17402605This series sounds incredible and I got the first two on Bookoutlet for very cheap. Plus I am in love with the covers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

#15- A Standalone book

23281652I’ve heard this is supposed to be a great revenge story so I’m hoping that it will live up to the hype. Plus it’s one of the few standalone books I own because I’m a big series fan.

 

 

 

 

 

 


So that’s my 2017 challenge! Do you own any of these books? Have you read any?

10 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenge

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    What a great selection of books! You’ll have a blast reading all of them. You can do it! These “whittle down your TBR” challenges are great. I’m doing one like it called #RockMyTBR which, last year, inspired me to tackle at least one old TBR book per month–until I got distracted around midway through the year.On another note, that UnSouled cover really is unappealing, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

