Scythe by Neal Shusterman

*all reviews are spoiler free*

28954189

Title: Scythe

Author: Neal Shusterman

Series Status: 1st book in Arc of a Scythe

# of pages: 435

My rating: 5/5 stars

5-star


Omg this book surprised me and surpassed any hype that I had for it. I wasn’t even sure if this book was going to be amazing because I haven’t heard much about it but it definitely deserves hype because it was amazing.

The world itself was insanely unique. It’s essentially a utopia where there is no death because humans have found a way to become immortal and because of this there are scythe’s who glean you, not “kill” you because that would be wrong. I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this concept because when I first heard about it I was skeptical on how developed this world would be. However I quickly fell in love with it and all of the insanely complex and amazing details that Shusterman put in it.

Another thing that I loved was the progression of the characters. When we start they are just ordinary students who don’t care about anything because immortality has made society lazy. They then become apprentices to a scythe and everything changes. Citra was just such an empowering female lead to me. Between her and scythe Curie there was no lacking in the badass female department. Then with Rowan we have almost a complete contrast to Citra which I really loved too. But possibly my all time favorite character from this novel is scythe Faraday. He was super reserved but as you slowly learned more about him I couldn’t help but find his character to be my favorite. The moral high ground he adheres to makes him a perfect role model for this series.

Then there’s the plot itself which also held so many spectacular moments. The basic plot is that Rowan and Citra are training as apprentices to become a scythe. Though neither want the job they both try their hardest and face so many internal battles. It was so refreshing to see a novel where the main characters did not want the position they were thrust into. But I also loved that though they didn’t want to win they still tried their hardest because it felt so true to their characters.

Shusterman’s writing style in this book was very different than in his other series. I’ve only read the first two book in his Unwind series but I enjoyed the writing style from this book way more. It felt darker in a way but also more fitting to this series. His use of describing things through the third person narrative was completely different than in Unwind and it was nice to see something so different between series.

I also loved the amount of humor that took place throughout. For a book about such a dark topic I was surprised that I enjoyed the comedic relief as much as I did. Each character had their own version of humor and every time it popped up I couldn’t help but laugh.

Overall I loved this book so much and it is definitely moving up to the top of my all time favorites list.

5/5 stars

6 thoughts on “Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Leave a Reply

