Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

*all reviews are spoiler free*

23281652

Title: Daughter of Deep Silence

Author: Carrie Ryan

Series Status: standalone

# of pages: 375

My rating: 2/5 stars

2-star


I disliked this book so much. I don’t even know where to start because honestly I’m surprised that I finished it. Although the only reason I did is because this book was small and I hate not finishing a book.

Starting with the plot itself. I was truly intrigued at the idea of a revenge story. While I’m not a big fan of anything starting based off of revenge sometimes they turn out really well. One of my favorite series, Red Rising, starts because of revenge but changes and turns into something more. I think that’s what I was hoping for. Instead this book solely focuses on revenge and follows our main character, Frances, on her journey to enact it.

My main problem was with Frances herself. She was consumed with this yearning for revenge. Her entire character was built up solely on revenge and completely separating herself from any other feelings. She was unrelatable and problematic for me.This made me hopeful for a romance free book but I was surprised to find it completely filled with romance. Which caused another problem for me. She’s completely obsessed and in love with the guy she’s trying to get revenge on. And instead of this being a simplistic form of revenge it turns into this entire stalker filled book that I struggled to even read.

There felt like there was no purpose to this book. It wasn’t a revenge story that evolved into more, it wasn’t about someone realizing she needs to let someone take care of her, it wasn’t anything other than a book about a stalker falling in love. I really didn’t like this because it set up such an odd and uncontrolled storyline.

I also found that the pacing was poorly done too. It started off with a nice flow to it but then the romance came in and everything changed. The story picked up too much and then everything had happened and it was over. There was no slow moments in the second half or anything that led up to the end that would make me want to keep on reading.

Perhaps the only thing that I enjoyed about this book was Ryan’s writing style. Her writing was the only thing that kept me going. I found I was drawn in by her writing even if everything else enraged me. She used first person narrative in a way that truly gave off the emotions of the main character.

Overall I really disliked this book and I am honestly surprised that I finished this because it was a struggle.

2/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Leave a Reply

