Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

*all reviews are spoiler free*

hushhush

Title: Hush, Hush

Author:  Becca Fitzpatrick

Series Status: 1st book in the Hush, Hush series

# of pages: 391

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

3-5-star


I’m so glad that I randomly purchased this book because it pulled me out of what felt like an eternal reading slump.While I read this I felt like I was cringing a lot at some points and that there were a lot of tropes in it, but I was also completely engrossed in the story and it felt like a guilty pleasure read.

Starting off with the characters, which were good but not great. I enjoyed the main character a lot because she felt like a regular relatable character. Nora is a high school sophomore who’s obsessed with her future and stresses about every detail. But then we have characters like Vee and Patch who I did not really care for. I felt like Vee was meant to be a stereotyped best friend who peer pressures her into a lot of things she wasn’t comfortable with. Then Patch, who is the love interest, felt more like a stalker than a regular romantic interest. I really didn’t like the way they influenced Nora throughout the story.

Then there’s the plot itself. Which I don’t really have a problem with, I really liked the whole fallen angel idea but I do feel like it took way too long to come into the storyline. For this being about fallen angels it took 200+ pages before the main character even thought about angels or connected it. Up until that point it felt like a creepy contemporary and I just kept waiting for the fallen angels line to be introduced. But once it was introduced I really liked where Fitzpatrick went with it. The direction felt like a good choice and even surprised me because I had a feeling there would be an obvious ending, which sort of actually happened but just differently than I thought.

I actually found myself really enjoying Fitzpatrick’s writing style which was a very simplistic first person narrative. It just had an easy laid back style to it that I liked because it made flying through the pages very easy.

While I said I didn’t like the love interest and I didn’t really like the romance I did like her progression of it. If you take out the creepy stalker feeling there was no insta-love and I found myself waging an internal war about it because she wrote the romance so well but I didn’t like the love interest. But I can say that I do really want to read the next book and see if by learning more about the world now that the fallen angels line is introduced changes any of my feelings towards the series. If not though this could work as a pretty good standalone since it was pretty wrapped up by the ending.

Overall I really enjoyed this while reading it but as I think back I do see some problematic things with it. This is definitely more of a guilty pleasure/pull you out of a slump kind of book for me.

3.5/5 stars

One thought on “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

