ARC Review: The Bad Seed by Michael Lackey

*all reviews are spoiler free*

33657933

Title: The Bad Seed

Author: Michael Lackey

Series Status: 1st book in the Battle for the Heavens Series

# of pages: 305

My rating: 3/5 stars

3-star


Summary from Goodreads:

On the day Zachery Morely's mother asks him to fetch herbs from the garden,
he never expected to find himself face to face with a demon. A demon who 
has planted the seed of a sinister tree that feeds off the living. Zachery 
and his father George request the help of the King to figure out what this 
tree means. Only when the tree consumes its first human being and takes it 
true, human like form, and hear its warnings do they realize their world is
in serious danger. Zachery sets off on an epic journey with the King and
the kings guard through lands of men, dwarves, and elves. He confronts 
elven wizards and dragons, and acknowledges he is more powerful than he 
thinks, in order to help find the champion of light and save his world 
from evil.

*I received a free copy in exchange for a honest review*

This book really surprised me. I didn’t know anything about it but still super excited to review it because it was a part of the Polyethnic Fandom Book Box which is all about promoting smaller/ self published authors. If you don’t know much about them you should check out their instagram page @thepolyethnic where you can learn all about this.

Normally I hold off on talking about my favorite part of the book until further in the review but I want to talk about it first because I loved it that much. Lackey’s writing style. I was honestly amazed at how unique yet incredible it was. Instead of a classic third person narrative he took that and added small interludes in every chapter where you hear from the narrator and they speak in first person. I’ve heard it’s described to be similar to some other books but I’ve never read one like it and I loved this unique style of writing. It drew you in without confusing you.

There was also the beautiful chapter art that was done which may be a minor thing, but was also something that I really liked. It’s just tiny details like that added so much to the story.

I also really enjoyed the characters, they were slightly traditional and predictable but still separate from basic Tropes. The group of characters introduced provided multiple storyline options and the switch back and forth made it hard to get bored with any of the characters.

However I felt that the storyline itself dragged a little and the pacing was not at it’s greatest for me. The beginning of the story started off great and I was quickly hooked but as it progressed I began to lose interest. I think this was do to the slightly erratic pacing that made me feel out of touch with the story and disconnected.ย The plot itself did not seem to present any drawbacks to me and I found myself really enjoying the majority of it but the pacing pulled it down and made the story less enjoyable.

Overall this was a perfectly good book but just may not have been the book for me.

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Bad Seed by Michael Lackey

Leave a Reply

