ARC Review: Aura In LaLaLand by Skye Grace

*all reviews are spoiler free* 

51hqphtcigl

Title: Aura In LaLaLand

Author: Skye Grace

Series Status: Standalone

# of pages: 243

My rating: 3/5 stars

3-star


Summary:

When teenage theater geek Aura Lidell finds herself falling down a 
mysterious rabbit hole and hurtled 10 years into the future, understanding 
inconsistencies in the time space continuum is the least of her worries. 
Suddenly finding herself without her lifelong best friend Rowan, she must 
navigate her lifestyle as a 26 year old TV star in Los Angeles with no 
recollection of how she became one. All of the beautiful faces surrounding 
her are ones she can barely recall, her memories only returning at the sip 
of any beverage that calls "drink me!" A hit show and a dreamy, teen soap 
star boyfriend seem like the perfect life until her love for both of them 
begin unraveling before her eyes. All Aura wants is to find her best 
friend... Oh and maybe her teenage crush, actor Jacksen Andrews, who 
happens to be looking for a new leading lady, on and off screen. Meeting 
Jacksen and the cast turns out to be a much more magically complicated 
adventure than planned, and Aura wonders if she can find her true self 
amongst the craziness in order to keep herself from being sent back to her 
unabashedly normal old life.

*I received a free copy in exchange for a honest review*

This book is very different from my normal reading habits but it sounded interesting so I thought I would give it shot. Plus I love retellings so anything Alice in Wonderland-esque will definitely catch my attention.

However I found that maybe this was just a little too far from normal reading habits that I just did not enjoy it. There was nothing fundamentally wrong with the story itself it was well written but not something I could see myself enjoying much.

The plot felt very much like that movie 13 Going on 30 and I while I liked the idea of being thrust ten years into the future and having to just figure it out, I did not really like the execution.

I did love the thousands of fandom references. Grace definitely inserted many tiny references and fangirl like things that I at least felt that connection to the main character. The characters themselves I did not necessarily enjoy as much because I felt disconnected to them but I don’t really know why. It was interesting to read from the main character, Aura, but I did not really feel a connection to her character or anything that would push me to continue on.

Overall though this book did not have anything particularly wrong with it, I just think it was not the book for me but others may enjoy it.

One thought on “ARC Review: Aura In LaLaLand by Skye Grace

Leave a Reply

