This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

* all reviews are spoiler free*

13138734

Title: This Shattered World

Author(s): Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Series Status: 2nd book in the Starbound Trilogy

# of pages: 390

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


I finally read it! This has been sitting on my shelf for over a year now but I finally forced myself to pick it up and I’m glad I did.

What I really love about these books is that even though they are companion novels and do not follow the same characters they still flow really well. I was afraid that going into this next book it would be odd because there would be nothing from the past book except the world, but instead I found that it worked really well and there were tons of things that made reading these back to back easy to do (even though I didn’t).

One of my favorite things were the characters. In the previous books I was not a large fan of some of the characters but felt that with this book I had more interest in them. While they still aren’t going down for all time OTPs or anything I found the relationships kind of adorable and the characters to actually be likable. Personally I think Jubilee might be my favorite character out of this series so far. She was such a well trained stubborn soldier but she also was open to other opinions and did not just do things on a whim based on a love interest, which I feel like happens a lot in YA. Then there was Flynn, who I felt was also amazing because he was such a pacifist. This opposing theme between the two main characters was great because watching them try to compromise or come to an agreement was always entertaining.

Something that was also done really well was the romance. It had such a slow progression to and even though you knew it was coming because the entire series is based around “Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.” it still was such a slow pick up to the romance that it made it more enjoyable because there was a larger importance placed on the plot and world instead of the two characters falling in love.

The plot was fantastic! I honestly wasn’t sure how it was going to be when I was about twenty pages in but the fast paced nature of it only made it better. I liked the idea of two enemies pairing up to try and change the world. It created a great dynamic that worked really well.

Also how have I not talked about Kaufman and Spooner’s writing style yet? Because they do an insanely amazing job. I always felt hesitant about reading books by multiple authors but they did a great job with the POV switches and making it still flow really well. Plus the little “flashbacks” in between each chapter made the switches not feel so sudden but created such a great pacing for the story and was unique to anything I’ve read.

Probably the only thing that was kind of an let down to me was the ending. It was a great set up to go into their third book but I felt like it was pushing too much.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I think I will at some point read the final book in the trilogy because of this one.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Leave a Reply

