Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

 *all reviews are spoiler free*

51vvfhyujfl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Title: Ruby Red

Author: Kerstin Gier

Series Status: 1st book in the Precious Stones Trilogy

# of pages: 322

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


One of my super amazing book friends (@dr.misery.grey on instagram) gave me this entire box set for Christmas and I decided it was time for a marathon. And I’m glad I did because it’s so good.

Starting with the characters which were originally fantastic. I loved how our main character, Gwyneth is perceived as the traditional side character until she begins to randomly time travel. She was hilariously relatable and managed to hold her own even when she had no clue what was going on. Her male travel companion, Gideon, however I wasn’t as impressed with. I think this has more to do with the fact that it takes a while for him to be properly introduced but he just wasn’t connecting with me. I didn’t hate his character but there was such a distance between him that with out any development or backstory I found it hard to like him. Then there is Lesley, who was the greatest of great minor characters. She was hilarious but also not a character who only appeared when it was convenient for the story. Gier definitely developed her well and created a great dynamic between her and the main character.

Then there was the plot/pacing which may have been the only issue I really had with this book. The plot was great if underdeveloped to me and the pacing was really slow at the beginning. With the plot I felt like they took too long to get to the actual time travel, so that when they did it felt slightly sped up and rushed through without any real information behind it. But this could have been because of the pacing which was really where my problem was. It was so slow in the beginning. Honestly it was hard to push through those first couple chapters but once it got past that initial slow portion it picked up into a nice pacing.

However the time travel itself was incredible! The way the Gier described time travel made it really easy to follow and created a great way for this random time travel to actually make sense. The only confusing portions are parts that Gwyneth herself has yet to understand which I’m hoping to have explained in the next book which I will be reading ASAP.

One thing that I am definitely hoping for is that there will be a spin off series all about Lucy and Paul’s lives. Because even though we only got a tiny glimpse into their life, an entire prequel series about it would be amazing and now I need that to happen.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and will definitely continue the series because they are really interesting even if the beginning was slightly slow.

4/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Leave a Reply

