Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier

*all reviews are spoiler free*

91G1yL5I5hL.jpg

Title: Sapphire Blue

Author: Kerstin Gier

Series Status: 2nd book in the Precious Stones (or Ruby Red) Trilogy

# of pages: 354

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


I’m so glad I decided to marathon this series because it’s proving to be worth while! Honestly these are books that you are just going to want to read back to back.

I have to start with my new favorite person/thing/demon/ghost or whatever he chooses to go by, Xemerius. He is seriously the greatest of all minor characters and from the moment he was introduced I knew he would be my favorite character throughout this whole series. I won’t say much about him because he is just one of those uniquely hilarious side characters that you can’t help but love.

Then there’s the plot which is actually a lot better in this book to me. They still feel rather simplistic for a time travel series but I think that’s because we only get bits and pieces of the real plot along with the main character. I do actually really enjoy this because it adds some much needed mystery to this series and helps make me like the main character, Gwyneth, a little more. She’s still not my favorite main character of all time but she’s definitely grown on me more and I love that she’s finally standing up for herself in this patriarchal if not slightly (really not so slightly) misogynistic inner circle of time travelers.

Which brings me to one my things that I love to hate. The villain. Gier has outdone almost any other series because she has made me genuinely hate this villain. Normally I feel a strange adoration for the complexity of the villains created but with this one it’s pure hate. He’s so rude, misogynistic, and full or so many ulterior motives that I don’t know how he hasn’t screwed up yet. With that being said Gier did an amazing job creating him and making him so infuriating that you can’t help but hate him.

Probably the only thing I truly did not like about this book was the relationship. Like I said in the previous installments review, I am not a big fan of Gideon. And while he gained some necessary development I found myself not really enjoying the romance. It was too back and forth and there is such an overbearing feeling of insta love that I can’t get past it to really enjoy the romance. However I’ve decided to be happy with their pairing and glad that at least the semi love triangle that seems to be happening isn’t between the main character and two guys but rather her and another girl both vying for the guy. Normally this would annoy me even more but it’s actually downplayed a lot which makes easier to skip over and not care about.

The pacing in this installment was far better than the first! I was so happy too because there weren’t that many lull moments and it was much more fast paced which helped move the story along and made it easier for me to fly through.

Overall I really enjoyed this read and plan to start the final book tonight or tomorrow so my review for that should be up soon as well.

4/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    I kind of enjoyed Ruby Red and am glad to hear Sapphire Blue is even better. The funny thing is, I’m not quite sure why I ended up liking Ruby Red. Maybe because there was a certain sweetness to it without being too simplistic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

