The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

AB-NYT-Cover.jpg

Title: The Assassin’s Blade

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series Status: Novella (0.1-0.5) in the Throne of Glass Series

# of pages: 435

My rating: 5/5 stars

5-star


synopsis

(Found on Goodreads )

Contains all five novellas.

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

my-review

Why did I wait to so long to read this? I had heard people say that there really isn’t any new information if you’ve read beyond Queen of Shadows so I pushed this lower on TBR. But I’m so glad that I finally picked this up because there is so much to learn from it.

Starting with the relationship with Sam. In the main series we know about it and everything but this takes place within it and it was amazing to get to see the relationship as opposed to listening to Celaena give bits and pieces of what happened. Then there’s  just Sam in general who was so adorable and sweet.

The plots of the individual novellas may have been my favorite thing because I figured it would be like most novellas and just have a bunch of unconnected stories or scenes from different characters points of view. But instead Maas had all of the novellas go in an order and tell a story. Essentially this is a prequel novel to the Throne of Glass series instead of novellas.

About the only thing that made me sad was that we know how it will end. And while that’s great because I know all of the amazing things that happen in the main series, realizing that a specific thing will happen at the end of the book made it that more emotional.

I don’t think I even need to talk about Maas’ writing style because it was obviously spectacular and drew me in so much quicker than any of her other books. This book felt to be a lot lighter than her other books in the fantasy department but that doesn’t mean that I enjoyed it any less.

Overall this was a fantastic read and I’m so glad I finally took it off my TBR.

5/5 stars

One thought on “The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

