Caraval by Stephanie Garber

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

27883214

Title: Caraval

Author: Stepanie Garber

Series Status: 1st book in the Caraval series

# of pages: 405

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

4-5-star


I’ve finally read it! I’m pretty sure everyone has at least heard of this book by now and tons of us have been dying to read it since the ARCs became so popular. Maybe I’m the only but I went into this book cautiously because I was afraid that it was going to be overhyped and disappoint me; however that didn’t happen.

Starting with the characters which made this story. This is one of those few books that focus on sibling relationships heavily and portray them well. First there is Scarlett, who is essentially the main character. She loves her sister so much and is willing to sacrifice anything for her and tries to protect her from her abusive father. Then there is her sister, Tella (Donatella) who is almost an opposite. While she loves her sister just as much she recognizes that there is more to life than what she’s experiencing currently and is willing to risk everything to experience it. Their differences help them become closer and it was really nice to see a book focus on siblings instead of romance.

The plot was probably the most insane plot I’ve ever read. So much happens in this book with it’s fast paced twist and turns but it was almost impossible to figure out what was going to happen next. Some things were more obvious once you picked up on the hints that Garber kept leaving but the majority of the book was a mystery. Even at the end it had me questioning what happened and what will happen next in the series.

Probably the only thing that I disliked about this book  was the romance. It wasn’t pushed harshly but it was an insta love relationship. I didn’t mind it so much in the beginning because I figured it would not progress that quickly but it did. There wasn’t anything wrong with the relationship but I felt like Garber didn’t need to include the romance and she pushed it a little too much to be enjoyable.

The pacing for this book was incredibly fast but it worked so well. I don’t think anyone could put this book down because there was so much happening and the pacing was something that helped you get caught up in the magic of Caraval. So the rather fast pacing worked really well and made the story that much better.

Overall this book definitely lived up to the hype and was such a quick read because I couldn’t put it down.

4.5/5 stars

One thought on “Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Leave a Reply

