The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

CCI05212015_1024x1024.jpg

Title: The Wise Man’s Fear

Author: Patrick Rothfuss

Series Status: 2nd book in the Kingkiller Chronicles

# of pages: 1,000

My rating: 5/5 stars

5-star


I finally finished it! And let me tell you it was just as amazing as I had hoped. When I read the first book I loved it so much and was so glad this book was just as great. This will be a short review because I am still awed by how great it was and don’t know how to convey that.

Starting with the characters who were just as incredible as I remembered. With this book being so massive it was nice to get so much more development from Kvothe, not only in his younger life but also in the current stage he’s at when recanting the story. Then there’s the other minor characters like Bast and the Chronicler who show up exclusively during interludes. These two are incredibly developed throughout this installment and helped solidify their connection to the story. Within the story that Kvothe tells we also get more development with characters who are more constant and it was really enjoyable to see them develop as well.

Then there was the plot itself which was so complex. I thought the first installment had a lot going on but this one had so much more. So much happened within this book and I was amazed at how Rothfuss was able to make it flow together so seamlessly. His ability to write such an amazing and complex story and not make it feel like it was dragging amazed me.

This truly was another incredible installment from Rothfuss and I need to get my hands on the third book whenever it is released.

5/5 stars

One thought on “The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

Leave a Reply

