The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

25203675

Title: The Star-Touched Queen

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Series Status: 1st book in the Star-Touched Queen Duology

# of pages: 339

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

4-5-star


synopsis

(Found on Goodreads)

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

my-review

This book surprised me. While I read it I had some issues with it but I was also so engaged in it that all of those issues kind of seemed to fall away.

Starting with the world building which felt good not great. At the beginning, I was slightly confused on what was happening and how the world worked because I felt like Chokshi didn’t provide enough detail but assumed the reader would understand. As the book progressed, though, this became less of an issue and I found myself really enjoying the world.

Then there were the characters, who I thought were really special. For me I was immediately attached to the main character, Maya, and she felt like a powerful and inspirational character. But her relationship with Amar didn’t really do anything for me. I enjoyed them both as characters but their relationship wasn’t anything special. However that doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy their storyline. The entire reincarnation that is within the story is what made me really enjoy it.

It was such a complex and well done story based on that and it made the story so much better to me. Once you reach that part of the story all of the details from the beginning fall into place and make it so much better.

This book was so creative and different which made me love it so much. While there were a couple issues I had with it, they were minor and overall the story fell into place and was something I loved.

4.5/5 stars

5 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

  1. Nancy says:

    I struggled with this book. I felt her metaphors became too much, and I was drowning in her adjectives. Plus, I didn’t like how Maya was taken away by Amar and kept away from all family and friends for I thought it taught girls that it’s ok to be sequestered by a man.

    Liked by 1 person

    • quirkyandpeculiar says:

      I understand. Her writing was full of adjectives but I don’t think I personally minded that that much. And I didn’t really think about Maya being sequestered by a man. That partially changes my view on this book; however, I felt that she wasn’t necessarily “sequestered” originally if the story had been told from the beginning instead of flashbacks later. But from the point of view we get in the story it did kind of feel that way. Thanks for the interesting insight. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

