Mosquitoland by David Arnold

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

51cpN1esfRL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Title: Mosquitoland

Author: David Arnold

Series Status: Standalone

# of pages: 342

My rating: 3/5 stars

3-star


synopsis

(Found on Goodreads )

I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.

After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.

So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.

Told in an unforgettable, kaleidoscopic voice, Mosquitoland is a modern American odyssey, as hilarious as it is heartbreaking.

my-review

I am so conflicted with this book. I really wanted to enjoy it and in parts of it I did enjoy but overall it just had a weird feeling.

What I did love was the whole idea of the self discovering journey that Mim is taking to go find her mom. It was full of transcendentalism ideas and was such an interesting idea. However none of this felt like it as great in execution.

My first problem is that Mim has or does not have a mental illness. (This still confuses me so if anyone knows please tell me) But it seemed like she was just going through a lot of things and wrongly prescribed medication for an illness she didn’t have because her dad was overprotective. IF this was not the case though and she did truly have a mental illness then I feel like Arnold did a less than good representation of it. It was completely glossed over in every aspect considering I still don’t know if she does or doesn’t.

Then there were the characters who I felt were kind of one dimensional. I didn’t really mind Mim but I felt like all of the other characters kind of fell flat. There was no real connection to them and they didn’t really feel as though they added much to the story.

I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book and I think I’m falling more on the side of dislike. But if you’ve read it maybe you have some opinions or thoughts that could help me change my mind?

3/5 stars

One thought on “Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Leave a Reply

