Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

6528333.jpg

Title: Shiver

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Series Status: First book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls Series

# of pages: 434

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

3-5-star


synopsis

(Found on Goodreads)

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

my-review

This book was everything that I wanted in a guilty pleasure paranormal. I’ve only heard amazing things about this series but was kind of skeptical because it sounded like a cheesy paranormal and I haven’t had much luck with that genre lately. But then I found the UK set at a bookstore and had to buy them!

Starting off with the story which I think is classic paranormal but something that did it better than any other. What I loved about this storyline is that we know from the beginning of the story that Sam is a wolf. This got rid of that dragging portion of most paranormals where the guy tries to pretend that everything is normal when it’s so obviously not. Also because of this knowledge we don’t have to deal with the guy being an evasive jerk. Instead, Stiefvater took this usually trope filled genre and turned it on its head.

Then there were the characters who were well developed but maybe just a little predictable. Grace was an independent girl who’s very obsessed with this wolf that saved her as a child. Even though there wasn’t  “insta-love” technically because she’s known Sam for six years it still felt like one to me. Then there’s Sam who’s sweet, kind, and shy which pretty much characteristically opposite of every guy in a paranormal. I found that I liked this dynamic better than the traditional trope even if the character’s obsessions with each other felt a little much.

As per usual Stiefvater’s writing style always entrances me and makes me fall quickly into whatever world she creates. This one I found to be just as good and left me wanting to pick up the next book immediately.

One problem I did have with the book was an odd use of unnecessary flashbacks. I can see how they are relative to the story and how it created backstory and growth for a specific person but some of them felt over fleshed out and frankly not needed. I enjoyed them because it gave insight into an otherwise one dimensional character but some of them went on for four or five pages of things that could have been said in a paragraph or two.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I am glad to have the whole series because I can feel a marathon coming on.

3.5/5 stars

 

7 thoughts on “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

