ARC Review: He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

9781250113696.jpg

Title: He Said/She Said

Author: Erin Kelly

Series Status: Standalone

Release Date: June 6th, 2017

Publishing House: Minotaur Books/ Macmillian

# of pages: 390

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


synopsis

(From Goodreads)

In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack. She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim’s life that is changed forever. Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear, and while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something, and someone, is always in the dark.

my-review

* I received a free copy in exchange for a honest review *

This book left me in awe. So many things happened and I have not read that many thrillers but this one definitely goes to the top as my favorite. Starting with a trigger warning as this book does deal with rape and uses descriptive details when speaking about those events. The main character also develops anxiety and experiences multiple anxiety and panic attacks throughout the story.

I cannot even begin to explain how quickly this book grabbed my attention and had me hooked. It starts off on a slower pace that builds but has so much information that you don’t even notice that it’s kind of slow. I think it’s best to go into this book with limited knowledge because it causes you to learn everything as it’s meant and goes with the over arcing theme.

Speaking of the theme I loved how this book focuses on the eclipses and the incredible correlation between it and the story itself. The parallels that are drawn between the whole partial view and the examples of how there’s always more to a story was probably my favorite part of this novel.

Along with that I loved the way this story was told. It’s a dual POV book featuring two of the three main characters, Kit and Laura. Not only does the book break up between their points of view but it’s broken into parts where different parts of the story are focused on. This combined with the use of flashbacks created a compelling and page turning story that forced me to keep going so I could find out what happened. I loved that the Kelly put so much into the details that it had me questioning things when others told it.

There was so much distinction between the characters and it was easy to see that they believed what was true. I liked that this created the entire point of the story of what “he said” vs. what “she said”.

Probably the only thing that I wished could have been fleshed out a little more was a portion of Beth’s life that gets glossed over towards the end; however, I see that it was glossed over because the way the plot was going I would have loved to see a chapter POV from her about her thoughts during that.

Overall I enjoyed this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat, dying to see what would happen next.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

Leave a Reply

