Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

1-8.jpg

Title: Wayfarer

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Series Status: 2nd book in the Passenger Duology

# of pages: 532

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


synopsis

From Goodreads

*This is the second book in a series so the synopsis may contain spoilers*

All Etta Spencer wanted was to make her violin debut when she was thrust into a treacherous world where the struggle for power could alter history. After losing the one thing that would have allowed her to protect the Timeline, and the one person worth fighting for, Etta awakens alone in an unknown place and time, exposed to the threat of the two groups who would rather see her dead than succeed. When help arrives, it comes from the last person Etta ever expected—Julian Ironwood, the Grand Master’s heir who has long been presumed dead, and whose dangerous alliance with a man from Etta’s past could put them both at risk.

Meanwhile, Nicholas and Sophia are racing through time in order to locate Etta and the missing astrolabe with Ironwood travelers hot on their trail. They cross paths with a mercenary-for-hire, a cheeky girl named Li Min who quickly develops a flirtation with Sophia. But as the three of them attempt to evade their pursuers, Nicholas soon realizes that one of his companions may have ulterior motives.

As Etta and Nicholas fight to make their way back to one another, from Imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, time is rapidly shifting and changing into something unrecognizable… and might just run out on both of them.

my-review

Wow this book really surprised me. I remember falling in love with the first book when it came out but then I never picked this up when it was released. I’m so happy that I finally decided to finish up this duology.

This book started off kind of slow for me and was something that I was struggling to even read. I don’t if it was just because I had been separated from the story for so long or if it was just something with the storyline. Once I finally pushed through that beginning portion I was hooked, the story picked up and the adventure started and I finished it so quickly.

However this time around I found myself not caring about the main characters as much but being way more invested in the minor ones. While I still did enjoy Etta and Nicholas my main focus was turned to the other characters like Rose, Sophie, etc, who all got so much more development in this installation. I think looking back that in the first book they were more there as necessary but with this one they each got time to be developed and change and I enjoyed that way more than the focus on the main characters.

Then there was the plot this time which I enjoyed so much more because of the point of view switches. Now that we already know how time travel works in this world it was way better to read about all these different characters trying to connect and hide from each other. It kind of reminded me of a giant game of hide and go seek.

Once again I loved Bracken’s writing style and her ability to use descriptive imagery throughout this story. She was able to weave such a great story and create so many amazing characters.

Overall I really enjoyed this book even if it was hard to get into at first.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

  1. jadedhavok says:

    I really loved Wayfarer. I didn’t have any issues with the beginning, but perhaps because I was able to read the sequel less than six months after reading Passenger? I completely agree; Sophia and Li Min totally stole the show for me. I want a book just about them! Honestly, my only real complaint with the book was the epilogue; so much gets crammed in that it almost seems like there could have been a third book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • quirkyandpeculiar says:

      I think that it was just the large gap between readings that caused me to have problems with the beginning and I agree they could have spaced this out into a third book because so much happened.

      Like

Leave a Reply

