The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

619FkOCyg7L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Title: The Invisible Library

Author: Genevieve Cogman

Series Status: 1st book in The Invisible Library Series

# of pages: 330

My rating: 4/5 stars

 

4-star


synopsis

FromΒ Goodreads

The first installment of an adventure featuring stolen books, secret agents and forbidden societies – think Doctor Who with librarian spies!

Irene must be at the top of her game or she’ll be off the case – permanently…

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. And along with her enigmatic assistant Kai, she’s posted to an alternative London. Their mission – to retrieve a dangerous book. But when they arrive, it’s already been stolen. London’s underground factions seem prepared to fight to the very death to find her book.

Adding to the jeopardy, this world is chaos-infested – the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Irene’s new assistant is also hiding secrets of his own.

Soon, she’s up to her eyebrows in a heady mix of danger, clues and secret societies. Yet failure is not an option – the nature of reality itself is at stake.

my-review

*I received a free copy in exchange for a honest review*

This is the perfect lighthearted fantasy that I had no clue I needed. When I first picked it up I had no clue what this book would entail but after reading I found myself really enjoying it.

One of my favorite things was this unique magic system. There’s this specific “Library” that controls all the alternate universes and it’s their job to keep everything in order. It was unique to see that each world is connected through literature as the bind to the main library. I really liked this unique take and it helped the world building immensely. It was also so exciting to see the librarians being sent out into the alternate places to essentially steal books for their personal collections. It added a whole twist to the story and was one I really enjoyed.

The story follows Irene and her new trainee, Kai, as they attempt to retrieve a book that it well above their clearance. Even if this book included the trope of the mentor-trainee relationship I still found myself enjoying it. Another favorite of mine is the lack of romance throughout the story. There’s hints and moments but the overlying plot has no focus on the romance.

Cogman’s writing style was also one that drew me in quickly and is part of why I read this so quickly. She was able to draw me in and hook me in only a couple of pages and her development of the characters was mostly the reason I got so hooked.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and would love to continue on with the series to see more spy/thief librarians.

4/5 stars

*I received a free copy from Blogging from Books in exchange for a honest review*

5 thoughts on “The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

  1. Kiersten says:

    I read this one a few months ago. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either. I was looking for more from the story’s protagonist. Overall, it was an interesting story concept though. I’ll probably give the second one a chance sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

