ARC Review: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

emma-in-the-night.jpg

Title: Emma in the Night

Author: Wendy Walker

Release Date: August 8th, 2017

Series Status: Standalone

# of pages: 320

My rating: 5/5 stars

5-star


synopsis

Fromย Goodreads

From the bestselling author ofย All Is Not Forgottenย comes a thriller about two missing sisters, a twisted family, and what happens when one girl comes back…

One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister’s return might just be the beginning of the crime.

my-review

* I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review*

Emma in the Night is insanely beautiful and dark and something that I could not put down. As soon as I picked it up I was hooked and read this in one sitting.

One my favorite thing is that this story has an unreliable narrator. Reading while Cass weaves this story of what happened to her and her sister and then seeing Dr. Winter analyzing everything and comparing it to her personal life experiences made the story have this deeper nature to it. I loved that there was this unspoken similarity between Cass and Dr. Winter and how they both knew about it.

This psychological thriller blew me out of the water and hooked me with the atmosphere it created. I loved that the story created this sense of unease as you read. It was obvious that Cass was telling an important story but while she told the story it was nearly impossible to not be put off by it. No matter what I couldn’t decide what to believe and what was going to happen next. I loved that I was left guessing and that the unreliable narrator made it so much harder to decipher things.

Something that I thought was unique was that the story has a lot to due with narcissism. What I loved about this was that the approach was done incredibly well and since it was a topic that I didn’t know much about but found myself compelled to find out more because of this story. I really liked that this took a new approach instead of how people classically define narcissism. There were entire pages dedicated to an explanation of the narcissistic traits for certain characters and it helped with character development.

That was another thing that I loved about this book was that Walker’s development and growth for the characters was so well done. Even with this narrator weaving a story about something so horrible and terrifying she did in a way that helped develop each character and also helped the story along.

This story definitely develops slowly as the plot unfolds as more information is given by Cass but I didn’t think of this story as poorly paced. Instead I think it had a slow build up and created such an intense pacing that I was enthralled by it.

Overall I loved this book and it is definitely my favorite thriller that I’ve read and I would recommend it to anyone who wants an engaging and fascinating story.

5/5 stars

9 thoughts on “ARC Review: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Leave a Reply

