Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

infinity1.jpg

Title: Infinity

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Series Status: 1st book in the Chronicles of Nick

# of pages: 464

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


synopsis

FromΒ Goodreads

At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity.

Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead.

But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh eating zombies. And he’s next on the menu.

As if starting high school isn’t hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chainsaw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?

my-review
I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I picked this up but I figured it would be a quick read but I ended up really enjoying this book and now I want to continue the series.

Starting with the world which is essentially this really strange urban fantasy where all the folklore and mythical things you’ve heard of exist and are not normalized but at least in this book seem to be more commonplace than in others. I mean Nick’s friend owns a store that has a slogan about killing vampires and werewolves. I loved that this story was unique in the fact that even if the main character isn’t privy to the world that at least it doesn’t follow the mentor trope and has multiple people throughout the story who are in the know and help him out.

My only problem is that after I started this book I realized it was a spin off from a main series and I feel like I am supposed to have read the main series to understand a lot of this. It was understandable and even enjoyable but I think I would have a better connection to the world and characters had I read the original series so I may have to fix that before I continue this series.Β I do think that a little of this story was also unrealistic in just character aspects but I think that to fully form that I will have to read the original series. The connection that Nick gains with Kyrian seemed pretty unrealistic and overall just like a plot device but the rest of the story and the hilarious features to the story helped make up for it.

Another thing that I really enjoyed was the characters themselves. While I think Nick was pushing the sarcasm levels slightly past believable I think it was a pretty accurate representation of a fourteen year old. I also loved that he had to deal with mundane problems of being grounded in the middle of the most important scenes. It was not only hilarious but a great way to include the parent in the story past where they usually are for a YA. I do think that some of the characters, such as Kyrian, who I don’t think are meant to be background characters were brushed over and left slightly one dimensional.

However even though some of the characters may have been lacking the plot was not. It was not a super fast paced book but it had some great moments and overall I was easily reading this and not wanting to put it down.

Overall I really enjoyed this and I cannot wait to get further into this series but I think I will need to read the main one first.

4/5 stars

 

One thought on “Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Leave a Reply

