The Graces by Laure Eve

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

the-graces-laure-eve-book-cover.jpg

Title: The Graces

Author: Laure Eve

Series Status: 1st book in The Graces Duology

# of pages: 336

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

3-5-star


synopsis

From Goodreads

Everyone said the Graces were witches.

They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.

They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.

All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

This beautifully-written thriller will grip you from its very first page.

my-review

I have such mixed feelings when it comes to this book. I really enjoyed parts of it but this book did have some problematic features.

Starting off the story is very Twilight like and while that is not necessarily a bad thing it did feel very much like an overplayed trope that was there to push the story along. The whole time I felt like this existed as a plot device so that the main character, River, would have a valid reason to hang out with the Grace family.

River herself is such a conflicting character. She is obsessed with the Graces but continually shames every other person in her town for being just as obsessed. Her reasoning behind this makes no sense and is more of a way for her to seem different.

Besides River’s character I wished this world had more development. Since it is a paranormal it is more of a contemporary setting with added magic but there is almost no development from the magic system at all. We only see very vague glimpses of them and none of it really gets explained. I feel like this was done to give the whole story an air of mystery but I wished for more.

This story is more of a thriller with a dash of magic for me. I wish there was more of these things but I can’t help but say that I was drawn into the story. It really did hook me and I couldn’t put it down. I think this was helped by the darker nature that pops up towards the second half of the story.

While I mention a lot of things I dislike this story was really intriguing for me and even if the ending was predictable I wouldn’t say that was a bad thing. I enjoyed the story nonetheless and it didn’t feel like this story was trying to hide it’s direction.

Overall this book was entertaining even though it had it’s problems and I think I will probably pick up the next one to see where the story ends.

3.5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “The Graces by Laure Eve

  1. Jessica M Tuckerman, MA says:

    I. Could. Not. Stand. This. Book. I ended up DNFing it really early on because the writing is terrible, the characters are flat, and don’t even learn River’s name (assuming it is her name since it’s kind of said to us like “Call me Ishmael”) until like… what… 10 chapters in? It was so problematic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • quirkyandpeculiar says:

      Yes it was problematic! And yes her real name isn’t River although people called her that in front of her mom and her mom didn’t correct them (even though the only people who knew her by that name were the Graces) so I don’t actually know her real name.

      Like

Leave a Reply

