Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

51PqV2e-EvL.jpg

Title: Demonglass

Author: Rachel Hawkins

Series Status: 2nd book in the Hex Hall Trilogy

# of pages: 359

My rating: 3/5 stars

3-star


synopsis

From Goodreads

*This is not the first book in the series so synopsis may contain spoilers*

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch. That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (a.k.a. witches, shape-shifters, and faeries). But then she discovered the family secret, and the fact that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth.

Turns out, Sophie’s a demon, one of only two in the world-the other being her father. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will either destroy her powers for good-or kill her.

But once Sophie arrives, she makes a shocking discovery. Her new housemates? They’re demons too. Meaning, someone is raising demons in secret, with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?

my-review

This is another great addition to an intriguing paranormal series. I wasn’t sure what to expect from this next installation but I really enjoyed this one.

One of my favorite things about this series is how easy they are to read. I am easily drawn into the story and no matter what is happening my focus is peaked. This is a great series to read if you get into a slump.

Again one of my issues with this story was with the main character, Sophie, because she still felt underdeveloped and this time she got on my nerves a little bit. I really thought she would develop and grow more but I didn’t really see that. Plus there are a couple of other characters that get introduced that I didn’t really care for either but they did have a good level of development which was good.

The plot this time around while a little more simplistic was something I enjoyed more. It did have a little bit of middle book syndrome but after finishing I think I liked that because it caused some more development and the plot got a lot better for me.

Overall I really liked this book and I am excited to read the conclusion to finish off this trilogy.

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

