Invincible by Sherrilyn Kenyon

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

81-jO2FD3EL._SL1500_.jpg

Title: Invincible

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Series Status: 2nd book in the Chronicles of Nick Series

# of pages: 420

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


synopsis

From Goodreads

*This is not the first book in the series so  synopsis may contain spoilers*

Nick Gautier’s day just keeps getting better and better. Yeah, he survived the zombie attacks, only to wake up and find himself enslaved to a world of shapeshifters and demons out to claim his soul.

His new principal thinks he’s even more of a hoodlum than the last one, his coach is trying to recruit him to things he can’t even mention and the girl he’s not seeing, but is, has secrets that terrify him.

But more than that, he’s being groomed by the darkest of powers and if he doesn’t learn how to raise the dead by the end of the week, he will become one of them…

my-review

I don’t know why I don’t see people reading this series more often because I’m really enjoying them.

As I said with the first review, this world is full of so many different mythical things it’s insane but also entertaining. I loved the more development we got with this installation and I hope that with the next books we get even more because with each new book we learn so much about the world and Nick himself.

Now on to Nick and his development which is causing mixed feelings from me. While I think as a person he’s growing and developing more, his “magic” is not. We are in the second book into an eight book series and besides the occasionally accidental use of his powers Nick really doesn’t use them much. I was hoping he was going to be trained or at least in training by this point and have a larger grasp on exactly what he’s doing and where he is going with these powers. He also is falling more and more into the “Chosen One” trope but I don’t think it’s been a main focus currently.

One of the other problems that I had with this story is that the pacing is really slow. I wanted a fast paced story that drew me in and propelled the plot but this feels more as if it is suffering from middle book syndrome. I still really enjoyed the story and all but this book definitely felt like it was a set up for the next ones.

Overall I really enjoyed this story and wished that there was a little more going on but overall I’m excited to continue the series and see where it goes.

4/5 stars

One thought on “Invincible by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Leave a Reply

