ARC Review: The Dire King by William Ritter

all-reviews-are-spoiler-free

33590221.jpg

Title: The Dire King

Author: William Ritter

Series Status: 4th book in the Jackaby Series

# of pages: 343

Publishing Date: August 22nd, 2017

My rating: 5/5 stars

5-star


synopsis

From Goodreads

*This is not the first book in the series so the synopsis may contain spoilers*

The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times best-selling series the Chicago Tribune called “Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer” sends the eccentric detective and his indispensible assistant into the heart of a war between magical worlds.

The fate of the world is in the hands of detective of the supernatural R. F. Jackaby and his intrepid assistant, Abigail Rook. An evil king is turning ancient tensions into modern strife, using a blend of magic and technology to push Earth and the Otherworld into a mortal competition. Jackaby and Abigail are caught in the middle as they continue to solve the daily mysteries of New Fiddleham, New England — like who’s created the rend between the worlds, how to close it, and why zombies are appearing around. At the same time, the romance between Abigail and the shape-shifting police detective Charlie Cane deepens, and Jackaby’s resistance to his feelings for 926 Augur Lane’s ghostly lady, Jenny, begins to give way. Before the four can think about their own futures, they will have to defeat an evil that wants to destroy the future altogether.

The epic conclusion to the New York Times best-selling Jackaby series features sly humor and a quirky cast of unforgettable characters as they face off against their most dangerous, bone-chilling foe ever.

my-review

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

First I want to say how I excited I have been for this book because as you know I love this series so much. I was lucky enough to be offered an early copy and I can honestly say if you have not picked up this series yet you need to!

Starting with my favorite thing about this series, as always, the eclectic characters. Anytime I jump into the world full of Jackaby and Miss Rook I know the story is going to be incredible and provide me with some well needed laughs. With every installment into the series we learn more about the characters and this conclusion does not disappoint.

Another thing that I love about this series is that they are always incredibly fast paced and full of action. This final book definitely was even more fast paced than I expected but all it did was push me into the story more and make me more connected. I wasn’t sure what action we could have that would compare to some of the incredible scenes we had in the last book but this definitely lived up to it.

I also love how Ritter mixes humor into the darker moments of the story for effect. This final book is definitely a good bit darker than the others and I was excited to see that while the back and forth between the characters may have diminished a little, it was still in place for all of those perfectly timed moments.

This conclusion was just what was needed to wrap up the series in a super satisfactory if not kind of sad way. I am still hoping for some sort of novella entitled Dangerous Documents that will contain all those “Chapter 13″‘s that had to be retracted by our favorite Mr. Jackaby or a spin off series but that does not mean that I did not fully love this series and think that the conclusion was unsatisfactory.

Overall there is so much more I want to say about this series but that would involve spoilers and so if you haven’t read the story yet I would highly recommend although make sure you do not stare at the frog!

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Dire King by William Ritter

Leave a Reply

