Book Recommendations: September 2017

So I know it’s been a little while since I’ve made a post but I thought it was time for another recommendations post! Normally I have y’all give me words in the comments section and then I recommend books based on that but since it’s been so long I figured I would give some of my favorites right now and have you comment some on this post for next month. These recommendations will just be some favorites from this year that I don’t think I’ve talked about enough.

Book Recommendations.png


Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

emma-in-the-night

SUMMARY:

From the bestselling author of All Is Not Forgotten comes a thriller about two missing sisters, a twisted family, and what happens when one girl comes back…

One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister’s return might just be the beginning of the crime.

This was one that I received for review and knew little about. I knew it was a thriller and I have been wanting an intense thriller for a while now and this one definitely delivered. This hooked me so quickly and while it may not have been fast paced it was amazing and I really enjoyed it. For my full review click HERE.

Because You Love to Hate Me by thirteen authors

31450752SUMMARY: 

Leave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

Featuring writing from . . .

Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon

BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel). 

Okay this anthology is seriously unique in the fact that it was created in part by YouTubers. This is such an amazing opportunity and something that just added to the story for me and made it better. Plus the stories themselves were overall incredible. For my whole review click HERE.

Invictus by Ryan Graudin

51-L71YpyZL.SX316SUMMARY: 

Time flies when you’re plundering history.

Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far’s birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he’s ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past.

But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far’s very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems. 

This was a recent read for me and I have to say I am in love! I don’t even know how to explain how much I enjoyed this book because it was that great. There’s so much to enjoy about this story and the time travel was incredible. For my whole review click HERE.


So those are all of my recommendations for this month! Please don’t forget to comment with words for next month’s recommendation. Did I list any of your favorites?

 

4 thoughts on “Book Recommendations: September 2017

Leave a Reply

